28 Jan. 2011 Malaysian Tropical Curry with Lemongrass and Shallots

Adapted from “Malaysian Tropical Curry with Lemongrass and Shallots“. Vegetarian Times. (July 2009). p 38.  Downloaded from the web on Feb. 10, 2010.

My Comments: Is there anything better than fresh pineapple? I don’t think so. This week when I originally purchased the supplies for this meal, I bought the pineapple and promptly ate it for dessert — which meant this meal got put off until I could negotiate the snowdrifts (yet another 10 inch storm 2 days ago – uncle!) and return to my local food market.  I used flash-frozen mango for this recipe – I think if the mangoes are ripe, I’d prefer fresh, however finding perfectly ripe fruit is often a challenge here in New England. On the other hand, Lemongrass is fairly common in this area due to the many Southeast Asian families (and cooks) living here.

Ingredients

1 TBSP vegetable oil
4 shallots, peeled and chopped (1 cup)
3 stalks lemongrass, minced (1/3 cup)
1 TBSP cumin seeds, lightly crushed
2 cups diced jicama
1 medium red bell pepper, sliced (1 cup)
1 cup diced (fresh) papaya
1 cup diced fresh pineapple
3 TBSP low-sodium soy sauce
1 TBSP lime juice
1 TBSP agave or honey
2 tsp chile-garlic sauce
1/3 cup chopped cilantro

Malaysian Curry

Copyright © 2011. Adrien Bisson.

Method

1. Heat oil in a wok or large skillet over high heat.

2. Add shallots, lemongrass, and cumin. Stir fry for 2 minutes.

3. Add jicama and bell pepper. Stir fry for 3 minutes.

4. Stir in papaya, pineapple, soy sauce, lemon juice, agave nectar (or honey), and chile garlic sauce. Stir fry 1 minute.

5. Garnish with cilantro.

Serves 4. Weight Watcher points: 4 points.

About amybisson

I taught second, third and fourth graders. Teaching was my passion and joy for 30 years. And it didn't hurt that they called me "mom" sometimes. View all posts by amybisson

Leave a Reply

