08 May 2011 Heart-Healthy Dried Fruit Scones

Adapted from: Chang, Joanne. Flour: Spectacular recipes from Boston’s Flour Bakery + Cafe. (2010). San Francisco: Chronicle Books LLC. p. 50.

My Comments: Lucky enough to live in the Boston Metro area (well, that’s a

Flour Bakery Dried Fruit Scones

Copyright © 2011. Adrien Bisson Photography.

little stretch – a 40 minute ride puts me downtown though), I’ve been to 2 of Flour’s locations.  If you have too, you know how awesome this bakery/cafe is — no wonder lines stretch around the counter and there’s SRO!  Last week, I treated myself to Joanne Chang’s cookbook and this recipe seemed like the place to start for me.

Recently I have been told to try to cut wheat products from my diet. Not willing to give up on my love of baking, I am discovering some new flours to use. Today I substituted a gluten free baking flour from Bob’s Red Mill.  Since I don’t have to totally eliminate wheat, I kept about a cup of the wheat flour in the recipe. Not sure how a total replacement would have gone, but this substitution was just fine (yes indeed I have had this scone at Flour!).

I’m not publishing Joanne Chang’s recipe here; seriously — if you love baking buy the book! 

As this inaugural foray into Flour’s recipes takes place on Mother’s Day, we treated ourselves to quite a breakfast spread: smoked salmon (for Adrien), Vermont brie, raspberries, homemade vanilla/honey yogurt sprinkled with homemade granola, and of course, the scones. I don’t think we’ll be eating again until tomorrow.

About amybisson

I taught second, third and fourth graders. Teaching was my passion and joy for 30 years. And it didn't hurt that they called me "mom" sometimes. View all posts by amybisson

Leave a Reply

