31 Jan. 2011 Stuffed Eggplant “Hippie-Style”

Adapted from Katzen, M. Moosewood Cookbook. (1977). Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press. p 115.

My comment: Does the fact that I have an original edition of the Moosewood Cookbook make me an old hippie? I guess it might. Tonight I made the Hippie-Style Stuffed Eggplant (there are 2 other versions in this book).

I’ve adapted this recipe for the ingredients we routinely use: reduced fat cheese, olive oil in place of butter, and nonfat cottage cheese.  I have a bad history with sunflower seeds so I won’t use them. For tonight, I just left them out, but I imagine you could substitute something else with a crunch if you wanted. Pine nuts anyone?

Ingredients

3 medium eggplants
1/2 lb. chopped mushrooms
2 cloves minced garlic
1 cup chopped onions
1 1/2 cup cottage cheese (I used fat-free)
1 cup cooked brown rice
1 cup grated cheddar (I used 50% fat Cabot cheddar)
salt and pepper
1 tsp thyme
a few drops of tabasco (I used red pepper flakes)
1/4 cup sunflower seeds (I omitted these because I don’t like them)
1/4 cup freshly chopped parsley
about 3 TBSP of olive oil (original recipe calls for butter!)
paprika

Stuffed Eggplant
Copyright © 2011. Adrien Bisson.

Method:

1. Slice the eggplants in half lengthwise. Use a soup spoon or a grapefruit spoon to scoop out the insides right down to 1/4 inch of the skin.

2. Chop the eggplant innards into 1/2 inch bits, and saute with the onion, garlic, mushrooms, salt and pepper until the onions are clear and the eggplant is soft.

3. Combine everything else and season according to your nature. Stuff the shells generously and with love. (Yes, that is indeed what this recipe says to do!). Dust with paprika and bake uncovered* on an oiled tray.

Oven temperature = 350 F. Time 35-40 minutes.  *Cover is the dish seems dry.

Servings: 6. Weight Watcher Points = 5 (without the sunflower seeds and using the revised ingredients); 6 points with sunflower seeds added to the dish.

Leave a comment